California (CA) Secretary of State – Corporation and Business Entity Search

california secretary of stateThe current Secretary of State of California is Debra Bowen. The secretary of state of California is responsible for California State Archives and chartering corporations apart from the usual responsibilities that this position holds.

Debra Bowen is serving as the Secretary of State of California for the second term now and this term ends on January 5, 2015.

Search California Corporation Registry :

In this guide we will describe how to search Corporations, Limited Partnerships (LP), Limited Liability Companies (LLC), and Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP) for availability in state of California. Read further to search for an entity that is registered in the Secretary of State Office of California.

You will need one of the following information to start your search.

  • Corporation Name
  • Entity Name
  • Entity Number

You will first need to select a radio button option (mentioned below) from the search page to specify the criteria for your search.

  • Corporation Name
  • Limited Liability Company / Limited Partnership Name
  • Entity Number

Below steps illustrate assuming you have the entity name handy. Follow these simple steps below to find details about any entity registered with the Secretary of State of California.

Step 1: Click here to start your search. You will find a page which looks something like this.

California Business Entity Search Step 2: Key-in the entity name.

California Corporation Entity Search-Input
Consider you want to search ‘Starbucks’. Key-in ‘starbucks’ in the entity name field.

Step 3: Click on Search to find a page that looks like the screenshot shown below

California Corporation Entity Search Step 4: Click the Name (STARBUCKS CORPORATION, with Status as ‘Active’ in this case)

California Business Entity Search-Result All details like Entity Name, Entity Number, Entity Address, Agent Address etc are displayed.

Find Business Entity in Another State:

Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Utah
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Vermont
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Virgin Islands
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Puerto Rico Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico Rhode Island Washington
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Carolina West Virginia
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina South Dakota Wisconsin
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Tennessee Wyoming
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Texas